Fruit of the Drunken Tree

Fruit of the Drunken Tree In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of s Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid wh

  • Title: Fruit of the Drunken Tree
  • Author: Ingrid Rojas Contreras
  • ISBN: 9780385542722
  • Page: 240
  • Format: Hardcover
  • In the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990 s Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them bothThe Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogot , safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the counIn the vein of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez, a mesmerizing debut set against the backdrop of the devastating violence of 1990 s Colombia about a sheltered young girl and a teenage maid who strike an unlikely friendship that threatens to undo them bothThe Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogot , safe from the political upheaval terrorizing the country Seven year old Chula and her older sister Cassandra enjoy carefree lives thanks to this protective bubble, but the threat of kidnappings, car bombs, and assassinations hover just outside the neighborhood walls, where the godlike drug lord Pablo Escobar continues to elude authorities and capture the attention of the nation.When their mother hires Petrona, a live in maid from the city s guerrilla occupied slum, Chula makes it her mission to understand Petrona s mysterious ways But Petrona s unusual behavior belies than shyness She is a young woman crumbling under the burden of providing for her family as the rip tide of first love pulls her in the opposite direction As both girls families scramble to maintain stability amidst the rapidly escalating conflict, Petrona and Chula find themselves entangled in a web of secrecy that will force them both to choose between sacrifice and betrayal Inspired by the author s own life, and told through the alternating perspectives of the willful Chula and the achingly hopeful Petrona, Fruit of the Drunken Tree contrasts two very different, but inextricable coming of age stories In lush prose, Rojas Contreras sheds light on the impossible choices women are often forced to make in the face of violence and the unexpected connections that can blossom out of desperation.

    • Best Download [Ingrid Rojas Contreras] ↠ Fruit of the Drunken Tree || [Fiction Book] PDF ✓
      240 Ingrid Rojas Contreras
    • thumbnail Title: Best Download [Ingrid Rojas Contreras] ↠ Fruit of the Drunken Tree || [Fiction Book] PDF ✓
      Posted by:Ingrid Rojas Contreras
      Published :2019-01-23T05:35:23+00:00

    About "Ingrid Rojas Contreras"

    1. Ingrid Rojas Contreras

      Ingrid Rojas Contreras is an award winning author who was born and raised in Bogot , Colombia Her essays and short stories have appeared in the Los Angeles Review of Books, Electric Literature, Guernica, and Huffington Post, among others She recently received the Mary Tanenbaum Award for non fiction, and the Audio Miller Prize from the Missouri Review She has been a fellow at Bread Loaf Writer s Conference and the San Francisco Writer s Grotto, and has received scholarships and support from VONA, Hedgebrook, The Camargo Foundation, Djerassi Artist Residency Program, and the National Association of Latino Arts and Culture She is the book columnist for KQED, the Bay Area s NPR affiliate She currently teaches writing to immigrant high school students as part of a San Francisco Arts Commission initiative bringing artists into public schools.

    554 thoughts on “Fruit of the Drunken Tree”

    1. via my blog: bookstalkerblog.wordpress/"Mamá said Papá had to work far away because there were no jobs in Bogotá, but all I knew was sometimes we told Papá about things, and sometimes we didn’t."The Santiago’s lives behind a gated community may as well be a different world entirely from where their new, thirteen year old maid Petrona comes from. Despite their differences, or perhaps because of them, Chula is drawn into a friendship with her. Where Chula and her sister Cassandra spend the [...]


    2. When I was young, I was frequently chastised for being "too sensitive." I wasn't a wimpy sort of kid; I just felt everything -- deeply. If I was happy, I was practically delirious. When I really felt something, I was frequently accused of being melodramatic. I truly was not trying to get attention. I was just a little different from my very tightly-wound family. I projected thoughts and feelings onto everything from animals to bedsheets. I remember the weighty impact certain realizations made on [...]


    3. Set in Bogota, Colombia in the 1990s, Fruit of the Drunken Tree is an incredibly well crafted novel told mostly from the perspective of Chula, an upper middle class girl living a happy life with her older sister, mother, and father. Alternating with Chula is the perspective of Petrona, a poor girl from the Hills where Chula's mother was raised. Determined to help girls who were in that position, Chula's mother always hires poor girls to clean their house, and Petrona is the latest. Petrona's ent [...]


    4. This was a great book! I'm an advocate for diverse literature but I do understand I do not read many books about the Hispanic / Latin American community. This is the second book I read that is written by a Colombian author. I loved the strong female characters in this book enjoyed the writing. I wish there was a bit more explanation about the historical events. Having little knowledge of Colombia and its history, it was a bit difficult to understand the turmoil. I did have to Google to gain bett [...]


    5. I received this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.I just finished binge-watching Narcos so this book/scenario particularly resonated -- Colombia and Pablo Escobar. And, Contreras relates in her notes that this story was inspired by personal experience. Kidnapping, guerrillas, Escobar, and car bombs were all part of her growing up--this is what makes the novel so vivid and realistic.The Santiago family lives in a gated community in Bogota. The father works for a foreign oil com [...]


    6. I want to give EVERYONE this book.This is a powerful and beautifully written book. In the tradition of masterful Latin American writers, this story conveys the history of Colombia in the early 1990’s, the time of FARC, Pablo Escobar, kidnappings and violence. It’s the story of families and relationships and how the political circumstances affected everyone. The story is told from the point of view of a little girl named Chula and the family’s maid Petrona. The impossible choices made and s [...]


    7. This book was equal parts heart wrenching and beautiful. The writing in this book has been compared to the writing of Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and I would absolutely agree with that comparison. My parents are Colombian and I have visited Colombia several times, although not recently. Her descriptions brought back so many memories for me and I was astonished by how wonderful her descriptions were. Despite my heritage, I am unfamiliar with Colombian history. I still found it easy to follow the plot [...]


    8. With her father away at work, Chula lives with her sister, Cassandra and her mother in Bogota, Colombia in a kingdom of women. With the naïveté of childish wonder pimpled with desperation Chula comes of age amidst civil unrest, car bombs, first loves and news of The Guerrilla, fiend and hobgoblin, Pablo Escobar. When Petrona comes to serve as a maid in her house her presence enchants the imaginative Chula and her protection as they try to navigate the adult world.


    9. booksensationlife.wordpress.c full review on my blog. I cannot wait for this novel to come out. I will definitely be adding this to my library.


    10. Disclosure: ARC received from Netgalley & publisher in exchange for an honest review. (They may regret this.) Any and all quotes were taken from an advanced edition subject to change in the final edition.




    Leave a Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *